闻与品


给酒杯一点 cwtch

对于那些不完全熟悉“闻”威士忌的人的想法,它可能看起来有点怪异。威士忌不是饮料吗?但是首席酿酒师可以通过单独的嗅觉或当酒桶中的麦芽准备装瓶时来判断威士忌的质量,这一直是威士忌文化的一个独特的部分。

正如一个训练有素的耳朵可以挑选乐团中的单个乐器的声音,训练有素的“鼻子”以同样的方式工作,并且可以检测复杂威士忌中的各种味道元素。

虽然有些人有更敏感的鼻子,但鼻嗅不是一个排他的艺术,初学者威士忌可以很快学会检测的基本要素。记住 – 不要失望,如果你不能立即找到杏仁,佛手柑和肉桂,例如。首先从享受和谐的整体香味在一起。

大多数专业品尝师会”直接”鼻嗅威士忌,这是他们所谓的“鼻感”效果,然后在室温下添加大约一半的纯天然水。这有助于释放威士忌中的挥发性香味,并极大地帮助识别单个音符。

第一步骤

外观:注意颜色和亮度。捧着您手中的玻璃,并给它一个“cwtch”,我们在威尔士说。 (’Cwtch’意味着在威尔士的拥抱。)

第二步骤

鼻子:总是难以对香味说话。首先,对你的鼻子有什么影响?气味有刺鼻,刺痛,变暖,干燥吗?第二,是“强烈”或“畏缩”呢?不要吸入太深,因为酒精蒸气的强度可能会使你的感觉昏暗,导致“口感淡化”。第三,过一遍下面的气味篇:

  • 谷物注:麦芽,烤面包,蔬菜
  • 酯香注:香,果香,花香
  • 醛类注:干草,叶子,花
  • 甜蜜香调注:蜂蜜,香草
  • 木材注:新木,树脂,旧木
  • 油性注:坚果,黄油,脂肪
第三步骤

初味:当液体滑过你的味蕾时,最初的味道是什么?他们甜,酸,咸,苦?

第四步骤

回味:当你吞咽时,后味是否与酒香和第一口味所承诺的一致?还是开始表现出不同的特点?

第五步骤

回味:它是一个短的完成,快速褪色,还是风味如同在夏日布雷肯比肯斯的缓缓落日?威尔士麦芽酒会停留在你的味蕾上。

威士忌饮酒者将知道并欣赏这个额外的空间作为品尝的前奏。虽然只有四种基本味道可以通过味道来检测;苦,酸,甜和咸,人类鼻子有超过1000种不同的气味标识符。

此外,我们都知道,气味是味觉的内在部分。没有气味,味道失去其深度和物质。对于麦芽威士忌,微妙和平衡的酒香意味着更平滑,更令人满意的味道。

NOSING AND TASTING


Give the glass a little ‘cwtch’

To those not fully conversant with the idea of ‘nosing’ whisky, it may seem a little eccentric. Isn’t whisky a drink? But a master distiller’s ability to judge the quality of a whisky by sense of smell alone or when the malts in the cask are ready for bottling has always been a distinctive part of whisky culture.

Just as a trained ear can pick out the sounds of individual instruments in an orchestra, the trained ‘nose’ works in much the same way and can detect the individual elements of flavour in a complex whisky.

Although some people have more sensitive noses, nosing is not an art restricted to an exclusive club and the beginner to whisky can soon learn to detect the basic elements. Remember – don’t be disappointed if you can’t instantly locate almond, bergamot and cinnamon, for example. Just start by enjoying the overall fragrances in harmony together.

Most professional tasters nose the whisky ‘straight’ for what they call the ‘nose feel’ effect and then add about half as much pure natural water at room temperature. This helps to release the volatile aromas in the whisky and greatly aids the identification of individual notes.

Stage 1

Appearance: Note the colour and brightness. Cup the glass in your hands and give it a little ‘cwtch’ as we say in Wales. (‘Cwtch’ means a hug in Welsh.)

Stage 2

The nose: It is always difficult to put words to aromas. First, what is the effect on your nose? Is the smell pungent, prickly, warming, drying? Second, how ‘forward’ or ‘shy’ is it? Don’t inhale too deeply, as the strength of the alcohol vapours may dull your senses, causing ‘palate fade’. Third, work through this checklist of aroma groups:

  • Cereal notes: malt, toast, vegetable
  • Ester notes: fragrant, fruity, flowery
  • Aldehyde notes: hay, leaves, flowers
  • Sweet notes: honey, vanilla
  • Wood Notes: new wood, resin, old wood
  • Oily Notes: nutty, buttery, fatty
Stage 3

Primary taste: What are the initial flavours you pick up as the liquid slides over your taste buds? Are they sweet, sour, salty, bitter?

Stage 4

Back of palate: As you swallow, is the back-palate flavour consistent with that promised by the bouquet and first taste? Or is it beginning to show different characteristics?

Stage 5

Aftertaste: Is it a short finish, a rapid fade, or does the flavour linger like a summer sunset over the Brecon Beacons? Welsh malts will linger on your taste buds.

Discerning whisky drinkers will know and appreciate this extra dimension as a prelude to tasting. While there are only four basic flavours which can be detect by taste; bitter, sour, sweet and salt, the human nose has over 1000 different smell identifiers.

Also, as we all know, smell is an intrinsic part of taste. Without smell, taste loses its depth and substance. For malt whiskies a subtle and well-balanced bouquet means a smoother, more satisfying, taste.