Image

我们独特的蒸馏器

"独一无二的蒸馏器"

我们的威士忌蒸馏器仍然是一个单独的铜锅,却可产生非凡的强度和高纯度香味的烈酒,铜锅由法拉第博士设计,是具开创性精神的维多利亚科学家迈克尔·法拉第的后裔。截至2013年,我们有一对这样的蒸馏器。

虽然大多数苏格兰和爱尔兰酒厂使用常规的两或三罐蒸馏系统,从Penderyn开发的技术却允许从一个单一的蒸馏器中产生一个非常干净的“美味的”烈酒。

然而,在2014年,我们启动了一对苏格兰风格的“灯笼”蒸馏器,使我们能够尝试新的威士忌。

Image

每天早晨,我们独特的铜锅蒸馏器会负责我们自己的发芽大麦清洗。当蒸汽加热液体时,它开始起泡,蒸汽上升到蒸馏器上方的铜柱中。铜柱有多个穿孔板,蒸汽在在第一板上冷凝,之后返回蒸馏器。

当该过程继续时,蒸汽到达第二板…以此类推,然后蒸发并下降回蒸馏器;每一个步骤都让酒精更顺滑,更柔软,更精致。最终,酒精从第二列铜柱的第七块板取得,并被管道输送到我们的酒精玻璃保险箱(见上图),在那里它逐渐降落,可说是一滴接一滴,每日周而复始。

这个神奇的过程不仅使我们的原酒具有很大的复杂性,深度和精细度,而且还去除了许多不需要的化学合成物,这是常规的釜式蒸馏系统不能实现的。达到了工业高度的92%度安全原酒,我们的原酒几乎没有这些化学化合物,而这一特点在木桶中的老化过程中变得至关重要。

威士忌在烧焦的橡木桶中陈酿,主要是为了除去不需要的化学化合物,因为橡木桶在填充之前作为过滤器被燃烧或烧焦时形成的木炭形成了一种过滤器。由于这些化学化合物通常在第一位置中已经不存在于我们的烈酒,我们使用桶主要是建立烈酒的复杂性,风味和深度。

酿造过程的所有元素都由我们的酿造团队密切控制,使得能够连续生产高品质的酒液。即使气候条件的微小变化也会在成品中产生微妙的特性变化。不同寻常的麦芽威士忌生产商,我们所有的瓶装都有日期,而鉴赏家将能够都发觉出不同月份的轻微差别。

Image

Image

木头和水

"纯矿泉水和最好的波本酒桶..."

麦芽威士忌的个性特征受许多不同因素的影响。这些包括所使用的麦芽的品种和质量,水源和蒸馏器的设计和操作。然而,许多风味和最终的颜色取决于所用的成熟木桶的类型。

木头

Penderyn的内部风格来源于使用两种类型的酒桶。对于起初的成熟期,我们使用最好的手工选择的波本酒桶,随后转移到曾经培育了丰富的马德拉葡萄酒的葡萄牙的酒桶中完成威士忌。每个木桶都被密切观察,经常“鼻子测试”,直到木材已经赋予其全部香味,并且威士忌已达到完美。

这是一个只能通过人类感官的精确精确判断的时刻,我们的两个酿造专家,劳拉和阿斯塔,在这方面的技能已经炉火纯青。我们从最好的田纳西和肯塔基酒厂采购最好的桶。大部分的酒桶都可以追溯回Buffalo Trace酒厂,这个被广泛承认是世界上最好的波本酒厂之一。我们还使用质量相当的来自Evan Williams的桶。 Evan Williams来自西威尔士,并于1783年开始蒸馏,因此被认为是美国波本工业的创始人之一。

我们与最好的制桶业的一家供应商有良好的关系,这家工厂只提供最好的马德拉酒的酒桶。马德拉是一种甜的,复杂的葡萄酒,罕见的只有在同名的岛上生产。它能够老化超过100年。慢慢地,我们的烈酒将从橡树桶过滤出马德拉,获得更多微妙和复杂的变化。

偶尔,我们会使用不同的木材来表达不同的Penderyn,但即使是我们精致的泥煤版本(使用苏格兰泥煤酒桶),仍保留了烈酒的特性。我们还使用葡萄牙的波特木桶和来自西班牙的干西班牙甜雪利酒的雪利酒桶完成我们的威士忌。

水源

Penderyn酿酒厂位于布雷肯比肯斯国家公园,我们的水来自我们自己的纯水水源,位于酿酒厂深处的石灰岩中。这是蒸馏和混合过程中使用的唯一的水,是我们的麦芽威士忌的一个关键成分。酿酒厂坐落在含有约3.4亿年前铺设的岩层的海绵含水层之上。

这个含水层保持纯净水,通过上层的基础砂砾过滤到石灰石中。整个形成被描述为厚层和细粒到粗粒材料。它最初沉积在浅海洋环境中。

古代风化的表面存在于地层的部分,覆盖着薄的原始土壤,岩石在被淹没之前短暂地高于海平面。

Image

地面上,在冰河时代期间,覆盖北欧的冰川260万年前已经到达了Penderyn酿酒厂所在的纬度。 回到北极,今天的景观已经开始出现。

布雷肯比肯斯

地面上,在冰河时代时期,覆盖北欧的冰川260万年前已经到达了Penderyn酿酒厂所在的纬度。 回到北极,今天的景观已经开始出现。

Penderyn也位于Fforest Fawr国家地质公园的范围内。目前全球只有100个地质公园,它们由联合国教育,科学及文化组织管理,作为展示“具有重大意义的地质遗产”的地区。


  • WELCOME TO PENDERYN DISTILLERY, THE HOME OF AWARD WINNING PENDERYN SINGLE MALT WELSH WHISKY AND OTHER HIGH QUALITY SPIRITS.

    Penderyn Distillery encourages responsible consumption.
    For more information about responsible drinking, go to www.drinkaware.co.uk

    By clicking the agree box you confirm that you are of a legal age to purchase alcohol in the country in which you reside. You are also agreeing to Penderyn’s terms. You can also review our Privacy Policy here.

OUR UNIQUE STILL

‘A still like no other…’

 

Our whisky still is a single copper-pot which produces a flavourful spirit of extraordinary strength and purity and was designed by Dr David Faraday, descendent of the ground-breaking Victorian scientist, Michael Faraday. As of 2013 we have a pair of these stills.

Whilst most Scottish and Irish distilleries use a conventional two or three-pot still system, the technology developed at Penderyn allows an extremely clean ‘flavourful’ spirit to be produced from a single still.

However, in 2014 we commissioned a pair of Scottish-style ‘lantern’ stills which allow us to experiment with new whiskies.

Each morning our unique copper-pot still is charged with our own malted barley wash. As the steam heats the liquid it starts to bubble and the vapour rises into a copper column above the still. The column has a number of perforated plates and the vapour condenses on the first plate before returning to the still.

As the process continues, the vapour reaches the second plate… and so on, before evaporating and falling back to the still; each step leaving the spirit smoother, softer and more refined than before. Eventually the spirit is drawn from the seventh plate on the second column and piped into our glass spirit safe (see pic above) where it lands, literally drop by drop, over the course of the day.

This magical process not only imbues our raw spirit with great complexity, depth and finesse, but also removes many of the undesirable chemical compounds – something that a conventional pot still system cannot achieve. Arriving at the spirit safe at an industry high of 92% abv, our spirit is virtually free from these chemical compounds and this becomes crucial during cask ageing.

Whisky is aged in charred oak barrels primarily to remove undesirable chemical compounds as the charcoal created as oak barrels are burned or charred prior to filling acts as a filter. As these chemical compounds are generally absent from our spirit in the first place, we use barrels primarily to build complexity, flavour and depth.

All the elements of the distillation process are closely controlled by our distilling team, enabling the consistent production of high quality spirit. Even slight variations in climatic conditions will produce subtle changes of character in the finished product. Unusually amongst malt whisky producers, all our bottlings are dated and connoisseurs will be able to pick up the slight nuances in flavour from month to month.

WOOD AND WATER

‘Pure mineral water and the finest bourbon casks…’

The individual characteristics of malt whisky are influenced by a number of different factors. These include the variety and quality of the malted barley used, the water source and the design and operation of the still. However, much of the flavour – and the final colour – depends on the type of wooden barrels used for maturation.
WOOD

The Penderyn house-style derives from the use of two types of casks. For the initial maturation we use the finest hand-selected bourbon barrels and to finish the whisky we transfer to Portuguese barriques that have previously nurtured a rich Madeira wine. Each cask is closely watched and regularly ‘nosed’ until the wood has imparted its full flavour and the whisky has reached perfection.

It is a moment that can only be judged by the exquisite precision of the human senses, and our two distillers, Laura and Aista, are supremely skilled in this area.We source the finest barrels from the best Tennessee and Kentucky distilleries. A high proportion begin life at Buffalo Trace, which is widely recognised as one of the finest bourbons in the world. We also use barrels from Evan Williams, which are of similar quality. Evan Williams came from west Wales and began distilling in 1783 and so is regarded as one of the founders of the American Bourbon industry.

We have a special relationship with one of the finest cooperages which supplies only the very best Madeira houses. Madeira is a sweet, complex wine of great rarity produced only on the island of the same name. It is capable of ageing for over 100 years. Slowly our spirit will leach the Madeira from the oak, increasingly gaining in subtlety and complexity.

Occasionally we will use a different wood for different expressions of Penderyn, but even our delicate peated edition (made using Scottish peated casks) retains the character of the spirit. We also use Port wood barrels from Portugal and dry Oloroso Sherry casks from Spain to finish our whisky.

WATER

Penderyn Distillery is located in the Brecon Beacons National Park and our water is drawn from our own pure source in the carboniferous limestone deep below the distillery. This is the only water used in the distilling and blending process and is a key ingredient in our malt whisky. The distillery sits above a cavernous aquifer that contains rock formations laid down around 340 million years ago. aquifer that contains rock formations laid down around 340 million years ago.

This aquifer holds water that filters down through the overlying basal grit into the limestone. The whole formation is described as thick-bedded and of fine to course-grained material. It was originally deposited in a shallow marine environment.

Ancient weathered surfaces exist in parts of the formation, covered with thin, primordial soil in places where the rock was briefly higher than sea level before being submerged again.

Above ground, during the Ice Age, ice floes covering Northern Europe had reached the latitude at which Penderyn Distillery lies c. 2.6 million years ago. On retreating back to the Arctic today’s landscape began to emerge.

BRECON BEACONS

Above ground during the Ice Age, ice floes covering Northern Europe had reached the latitude at which Penderyn Distillery lies c. 2.6 million years ago. On their retreating back to the Arctic, today’s landscape began to emerge.

Penderyn also lies within the bounds of the Fforest Fawr National Geopark. There are only 100 Geoparks across the globe and they are administered by UNESCO as areas which exhibit ‘geological heritage of great significance.’